1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Explore the USDA Food Pyramid


Updated April 16, 2014

4 of 8

Bread, Cereal, Rice, and Pasta
bread, cereal, pasta and rice

Bread, cereal, pasta and rice make up this energy-rich food group.

Cristian Matei
The first step in the old pyramid is the bread, cereal, rice, and pasta group of foods. The pyramid suggests you eat at least three serving of whole grains each day, although the total number of servings from this group varies based on your total daily calorie intake. Keep in mind that one serving in this group is equal to one-half cup cooked rice, one-half cup cooked pasta, or one slice of bread. This food group is loaded with energy due to the large amounts of complex carbohydrates stored as starch. Your body uses these carbs as fuel to get you through your busy day.

Why Whole Grains?

Whole grains still have the bran, so there's more fiber per serving. Fiber is important for a healthy digestive system, and it helps keep you feeling full longer. Look for "100 percent whole wheat" on your bread and cereal products or choose items made from corn, which fits into the whole grain category.
  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Nutrition
  4. Start With The Basics
  5. Bread, Cereal, Rice, and Pasta

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.