1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email
Shereen Jegtvig, MS

Is Spelt the Same as Wheat?

By January 11, 2006

Follow me on:

Spelt is very similar to wheat. So similar that FDA says that spelt products can't claim to be "wheat-free" on their labels. In fact a popular bakery in Minnesota had 30,000 loaves of spelt bread seized by the Federal Government because the labels claimed the loaves were "wheat-free." While the breads did not contain wheat, they were made from spelt flour. The company, French Meadow Bakery is changing their labels (by they way, I have tasted their spelt bread and it is wonderful) to remove the "wheat-free" wording.

Many people feel that because spelt protein is easier to digest than wheat protein, they can tolerate spelt products even if they are allergic to regular wheat products. This seems to especially be true for people with delayed hypersensitivities to wheat.

Read more about spelt and how it can be a healthy part of your diet.
Comments
October 5, 2009 at 3:40 pm
(1) wendy trem says:

I use spelt in replace of traditional wheats and I am seeing a noticeable difference in the way I feel. Like many people, I have a wheat sensitivity [to be clear NOT celiacs] and would feel pretty awful after eating foods that are dense in wheat. My neighbor suggested that I try Vita-Spelt products and they have had a huge impact on the way I feel. I love their pastas and granolas and have started baking with their flours.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
Top Related Searches
  • wheat
    1. About.com
    2. Health
    3. Nutrition

    ©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

    We comply with the HONcode standard
    for trustworthy health
    information: verify here.